Just another WordPress.com site

Sewing Machine

For Christmas I was lucky enough to get two dream machines– my Kitchen Aid Standmixer & a sewing machine.

I’ve wanted a sewing machine for a couple years even though I’ve never ever used one. This pretty model was the one I got. 

I needed a first project and with multiple first birthday’s and baby showers coming I thought sewn blocks would be a simple place to start. I used this tutorial from Make It and Love It.

And boy, did I make blocks:


I made some for my baby brother (yup, 27 year difference), I made some for my friends baby shower and more for another friends son’s birthday.

The 1, 2, 3 blocks I started them at about 1:30 am and it took about an hour to get them all done. I skipped out on the hand stitching the numbers on and opted for a fabric glue.

Next time I did these I would add things inside of the stuffing, such as a bell or crinkly paper.

They were pretty easy to put together and a HUGE hit. I spent most of my time coordinating the fabric and making sure each had the right balance of colour.

I got lazy and there were a few blocks I didn’t cut the corners out on the top and bottom blocks and it made things more difficult!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

