Just another WordPress.com site

Emily’s birthday cake

Earlier in the summer I complained to a friend that I was dying to make a cake. It had been forever since I had done it. So she suggested I bake one for her cottage weekend at the end of September. She started sending me amazing looking recipes to cakes that she liked.

Closer to the date she dropped the bomb that it was going to have to be gf & df…. so I picked a recipe I thought I could convert and still taste yummy. It was Megan’s PB Cake

After dropping some coin at a local health food store I was informed that I could go back to gluten and dairy filled… but I decided to keep the same cake…cause lets be honest, it looks fantastic.

I baked the cake a few days before and made the ganache and icing at the cottage. A cottage I might add that I didn’t need to bring any cake tools up cause it was fully loaded!

 

The assembly. I had a devil’s food cake layer and the recipe layer (I might have damaged a layer in transit but been prepared with backups.

It was hard keeping everyone’s fingers out of the pb icing putting this together but I managed to save enough.

 

I don’t know why I had so much ganache! I poured the whole thing on… maybe next time I would make only half.

Finally

 

Everyone had leftovers to take home! ┬áThankfully! Cause I didn’t want it coming home with me. The cookies were also a hit!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

