Just another WordPress.com site

Soup’s On #1

Last winter I figured out how easy soup was to make… but I stuck to a few simple ones. 

Roasted red pepper and tomato soup (It is a Foodland Ontario recipe but for some reason it can’t be found on their server anymore)

making my own chicken broth (mostly in the slow cooker after doing a chicken. 

Michael Smith’s Thai Coconut Curry Soup— Oh I loved this one. Hands down one of my favourites and so easy. 

I had a couple of flubs… like a southwestern sweet potato :oS but I want to make it through the winter making awesome yummy new soups.

So enter the stage with: 

Broccoli Cheese Soup 

Yes this is another Brown Eyed Baker recipe… I can’t help it. She has some fantastic things on her site that I can’t get enough of! 

Cream of Broccoli-Cheese Soup

Yield: 10 servings

Prep Time: 15 minutes | Cook Time: 45 minutes

½ cup unsalted butter
1 yellow onion, finely chopped (I also added a couple cloves of garlic because I think everything should have garlic in it) 
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
4 cups whole milk (I used two percent) 
2 cups half-and-half (I forgot half and half at the grocery store so handy Coconut milk to the rescue)
4 heads broccoli, stems removed and discarded, and florets cut into bite-size pieces
Pinch of nutmeg ( & maybe a sprinkle of chilli flakes) 
12 ounces mild cheddar cheese, shredded (about 3 cups)
Salt and pepper
2 cups vegetable broth

1. In a large pot or Dutch oven, melt butter over medium heat. Add the onions and cook for 3 to 4 minutes, until they begin to soften. Sprinkle the flour over the onions and stir to combine, cooking for about 1 minute. Slowly whisk  in the milk and half-and-half.

2. Add the nutmeg, broccoli, a dash of salt, and lots of freshly ground black pepper. Cover and reduce the heat to low. Simmer for 20 to 30 minutes, or until the broccoli is tender. Add the cheese a handful at a time, stirring to melt the cheese after each addition.

3. At this point I did a quick couple of batches in the blender to puree the broccoli a bit. 

Overall, pretty good. I’m not a huge fan of super creamy soups but this one gets there with coconut milk which I love. I’m going to try freezing the extra. 

 

nom. nom. nom :o) 

 

 

Leave a Reply

